The Plantbased & Un-cooked Experience

Vegan Red Velvet Cupcakes

2 Comments

Vegan, Gluten-Free, Soy-Free, Nut-Free

Red velvet cupcakes came to America during the Great Depression and at that time, chemically food colorings were not used, as they are today, so natural colors was something people had to use, and the beautiful red came from nothing less than beets.

 

Red Velvet Cupcakes are one of the most popular cupcakes in my house – I usually only make them for birthdays, which is also the case now. Prior to coming to America, I have never heard or even had a Red Velvet Cupcake.

I tried to make the vegan version of Sprinkles cupcakes and my kids really loved them for their birthdays, but that was about it. I also checked out the vegan Baby Cakes, but didn’t really like all the ingredients they used in theirs (especially the canola oil) and some of the flavors were really not that good. So I have had to come up with something I like and that I know is healthy to eat – and why not sneak in some healthy ingredients when you can. 🙂

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose gluten-free flour
  • 1 cup coconut mylk (So Delicious or make your own)
  • 1 tblsp Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV)
  • 1 cup coconut sugar (or other healthy sweetener)
  • 3 tblsp raw cacao powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp Himalayan salt
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil (melted in a water bath)
  • 2 tblsp organic beet juice (the red color)
  • 2 tsp organic vanilla extract
  • 1 tblsp vanilla powder
  • 2 tblsp flax seed meal (egg substitute)

 

To Make

  • Mix the coconut mylk with the ACV in a bowl. Whisk it together and let it sit for 5 min.
  • Add the dry ingredients to a large bowl (flour, flax seed meal, coconut sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, vanilla powder, raw cacao powder) and mix well
  • Add the beet juice and vanilla extract to the coconut milk/ACP mixture and blend it gently together
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir in the coconut oil. Mix well. Add a little purified water if needed (mine didn’t need any extra liquids)
  • Add the cupcake wraps to a cupcake baking tray
  • Fill the cupcake wraps with the doug (about 80%)
  • Bake at 350F for about 20-22 min. – all depending on the size of your cupcakes. Test at 17 min. with a thin wooden bamboo stick
  • Let the cupcakes cool off on a cooling tray
  • Add your favorite topping as needed or eat as is…. Truly delicious.

 

2 thoughts on “Vegan Red Velvet Cupcakes

  1. Hanne, these are TO DIE for! My non-vegan, non-GF family couldn’t even tell that anything was “missing”! And the beet juice for color is ingenious! I didn’t use the GF flour mix because I don’t usually like the aftertaste, so I made my own blend and scooped 2 cups from that mixture (1 cup sorghum flour, 1 cup potato starch, 1/2 cup almond flour, GF millet, or GF buckwheat flour, 1 teaspoon xanthan gum). I baked them for only 17 minutes, and they were PERFECT!!

    • I am so thrilled it worked out perfect…. Thanks for adding your comments and replacement ingredients. The flour I used didn’t have an aftertaste (fortunately) but I do agree that a lot of gluten-free recipes have that.