The Plantbased & Un-cooked Experience

Bread

1 Comment

It’s not that easy to find really great bread that is gluten-free and especially not vegan. Most gluten-free breads are not vegan, as they contain eggs, and that’s a  big NO GO, at least for me and anyone who is avoiding animal products.

I love creating new foods and my kids are truly my inspiration to make foods, that are healthier than mainstream, and yet I still try to keep an element of my Danish traditions intact, but I just upgrade them to be healthier and vegan and as raw as possible. I am not afraid to experiment, and most of the times it goes really well, but once in a while (especially when baking), I hit a miss, but that’s part of the creative process 🙂

Bread is such a big stable in many cultures, and I happened to grow up in a very traditional culture where especially rye bread was the stable. Danish Rye bread is traditionally made from a sourdough base, and then made from rye flour, and sometimes wheat and then loaded with sunflower seeds and other seeds and even veggies (carrots). The Danish rye bread is very low in fat and it has no oils, no flavorings, and contain little or no sugar and just a little salt. It really is non comparable to most white breads, and I when I go to Denmark, I do enjoy having freshly baked (still warm) organic rye bread loaded with seeds (it’s often how I survive in this heavy meat eating country :).

Denmark is known for its open-faced sandwiches (Smørrebrød), which are mostly enjoyed for lunch or the big holidays. Rye bread was originally was a piece of bread with butter (smør = butter and brød = bread) and it later evolved to have a topping called pålæg = on-lay or cold cuts, which are usually pieces of meat, fish, cheese or spreads. A very appealing way of eating if it wasn’t for the meat!

You will find the German factory made and heavily processed rye breads in the stores or even something called pumpernickel, but it’s a far cry from the real Danish home-made or freshly baked rye breads. In America, it’s hard to find great bread, that is healthy and isn’t made from wheat or other heavily processed and maybe even GMO flours, yeast, sugar, dairy and eggs. It’s great to see how the health food stores are offering yeast-free and sprouted breads, but they are not quite there yet and most of the great products are always frozen.

I have been playing around with various grains, that doesn’t have any gluten, soy, corn, rice, yeast, eggs, sugar, dairy, starches, baking soda or other processed ingredients. These breads can be made as vegan baked version or vegan raw versions, so have a go at whatever you desire.

 

Ingredients for the basic bread

  • 2 cups of mixed grains (amaranth, buckwheat, oats, millet, quinoa), soaked overnight (preferably sprouted and then dehydrated)
  • 1 cup flax seeds, ground
  • 2 cups sunflower seeds, soaked
  • 1 cup raw organic hemp seeds
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds, soaked
  • 1 cup raw walnuts, chopped (optional)
  • 2 cups psyllium husk
  • 3 cups purified water
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • 1/2 cup irish moss gel
  • 2 tblsp raw local honey
  • 2 tsp Celtic Salt
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

 

To make

  1. Use a high-speed blender (Vitamix) to grind the grains into a flour (I do each grain separately and then pour them into different bowls).
  2. Grind the flax seeds into a flour
  3. Grind the sunflower seeds into a flour
  4. Add the sunflower flour, the grin flour, the hemp seeds, sesame seeds and psyllium husk to a food processor and make the DRY ingredients
  5. In the high-speed blender (Vitamix), mix the WET ingredients (Water, lemon juice, irish moss gel, honey, salt) and when the blender is running, add the olive oil to make a smooth liquid
  6. Add the WET mixture to the DRY ingredients, while the food processor is running. When the mixture has become a thick doug, it’s ready to make different breads and shapes.
  7. Add in the various ingredients from your choice of bread to create your favorite bread….. Make sure to incorporate the whole figs just before baking.
Variation I – Cacao-Chia Bread
I grew up on rye bread, so of course I love this type of bread (but only the Danish version) – but this vegan and raw or baked version is even better and healthier. So I added raw cacao powder, chia seeds, ripe banana, a dark raw honey (Noniland Dark Gold Honey), cinnamon and nutmeg.
Variation II – Walnuts-Cinnamon-Nutmeg
This is a real Fall bread. Just add walnuts, ripe banana, dark raw honey, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger.
Variation III – Fig bread
Add fresh black figs (whole), raw local honey, chia seeds, raw cacao
Other variations
If you like onion & garlic bread, you just add onion powder and sliced garlic pieces. Another version is adding cranberries, clementines and orange zest with pecans and maple syrup….. there are so many exciting flavors you can create.
To bake or not to bake
That’s the big question! There are two ways to bake this bread. Baked in an oven or dehydrated. The choice is yours! I baked the breads you can see, at 350F for about 1 hour. You can also use a dehydrator for 1 hour at 145F and then at 118F for as long as needed (I haven’t done the raw version yet, so you have to experiment yourself until I have done this).
The baked bread will be crisp and brown on the outside and soft and fresh on the inside. I always let me breads cool down before I slice them…and then they are basically ready for any spread you desire…. raw honey is a true winner, but also try raw honey/cacao, freshly made jams (fresh fruit, lemon juice in a blender with some raw agave or raw honey as a sweetener) – coconut butter and coconut oil is yummy….and sunflower seed butter is so delicious!

 

One thought on “Bread

  1. This sounds great, and something I will definitely try! To make this vegan I will replace the honey with organic agave syrup, brown rice syrup, molasses, or some other sweetener.

    I have Irish moss that I use to fine beer when brewing, but it is in course powder form. I have never seen Irish moss in gel form… is it possible to make the gel by adding a little water to the course powder?