The Plantbased & Un-cooked Experience

Spring Cleanse – Juice Fast – Day 1

Welcome to the first day of my Juice Fast (I haven’t really decided how long it should last this time, as I usually like to do it for 10-14 days, but this time, I feel I need to do a longer and more intensive one, so we will see).

These days there are many people who are juice fasting around the world, and it feels really nice for me to know, that I am part of a big community of like-minded, health conscious people, who are on the same path. I urge you to get started on the spring cleanse now, and do try a juice fast – it’s the best thing you can do for your body, mind and soul. You can do anything from 3-7 days or 10-21 days or even more…. your body will thank you for doing this, and the benefits are just amazing. There is so much power in juice fasting.

Spring is the best time of the year to really get rid of the winter, and prepare your body to take in all the nutrients it needs to stay healthy and strong. Spring is such a beautiful reminder of the circle of life. When you go outside, you can’t help noticing, all the activities, that are happening everywhere in nature. Plants are sprouting up everywhere and the animals are so ecstatic, the bees are pollinating, little birds are hatching and there is just this buzzing and humming everywhere. For me, this is my favorite time to go outside, feel the fresh air, walk bare feet, soak up the sun and start my vegetable garden. Spring is a magical time, where we get a chance to say good-bye to the old and welcome the new.

So many people are interested in doing a detox or cleanse, and are really curious about how to do this with the most impact. For many people it’s also an intimidating thing to do, as they think, they will be hungry, miserable and not able to do their daily work and chores, and when it’s time to really clean out (I mean enemas and colonics (its kindda taboo). I do understand this part, and to be honest, there are many ways to give the body a break and clean out the toxins, stress, bad eating habits etc. I have tried many different things throughout my life…from the extreme to the less extreme detox and cleanse programs, and I find, that juice cleansing is the most gentle, high impact thing you can do, and still have an active lifestyle.

So what has led me to start this juice fast? Well, I have done it every year at this time for most of my adult life, so it has become a habit over the years. I really enjoy it, and take the time to reflect and adjust my goals in life. I always gain extra weight between January and April…. I am no longer a heavy person (used to weigh 10 kgs/22 lbs more prior to being vegan), but I do feel it when I am 2-4 kgs (4.4-8.8 lbs) heavier. None of my clothes feel comfortable anymore. It’s funny, because I live a very healthy lifestyle, with lots of juices, raw foods and I am 100% vegan. Somehow, I just eat more in those last months of the winter (I blame it on the lack of sunshine), and if I haven’t exercised enough or been on road trips, my digestive system just quits on me. So what do I do? I listen to my body…. and then I have a board meeting with my brain, colon, kidney, liver, gall- bladder, and heart. We all agree, that it’s time to free up some space, as things are getting clogged up and crowed in my system.

So what’s the hardest thing about starting a juice cleanse….. it’s like anything in life… the first step is the hardest, and this is where the journey begins.

Many years ago I did the firewalk with Anthony Robbins. You basically walk on red-hot coals for 3.5 m/12 feet and you chant cool moss, cool moss with thousands of people supporting you…. the learning experience I took away from this, I use for many things in my life, and I tap into this whenever I need some extra strength

  • The physical body is ALWAYS ruled by thought; nothing can happen on the physical level, unless it first happens in the thought
  • The power of focus will get you through even the most seemingly impossible obstacles
  • The longer you lose your focus during extreme challenges, the more you get burnt
  • There is no such thing as impossible (I learned that from a man named Art Berg http://www.artberg.com)
  • Many people let FEAR rule their lives and often don’t even attempt what seems impossible
  • When I am ABSOLUTELY focused little can stop me
I learned a lot more, but the above is the summary of the learnings that can be applied when you do a juice fast. The first 2-3 days of the fast will be the hardest. Your body is going to ask you “are you going to eat today or what?”… I already noticed the craving for a bite of crunchy sweet yams, when I did my kids lunch boxes this morning. The trick is to make a large batch of juice and sip it slowly… This morning I made 1 liter /33.8 oz. and now it’s time for water and my cravings were gone immediately. By the way, cravings usually disappear after the first 3 days, so if you have food cravings, this is one of the methods to get rid of them.
My plan is to go for a run and do some weights today. I usually enjoy light exercise when I am juice fasting, but today, I feel in the mood for a run, so I will try it out and see how that goes.
I am not surprised to feel the impact of the juicing already. I have been on a road trip for 10 days and sitting in a car for many hours, is not the best thing for your digestive system. I lived very healthy on my trip and had juices every day, but traveling makes me bloated and gain weight. I know I am now reversing the damage from overeating carbs and protein (all plant-based though, but it’s still too much).
My goal with this juice fast is to lose weight, lose about 5 kg/11 lbs, that I gained over the winter and go from an 80/20 vegan raw/cooked lifestyle to a 90-100% raw lifestyle again.
TODAY’S NUMBERS:
Weight loss:
0 kgs/0 lbs
Juices I had or plan to have today:
Carrot-Apple-Ginger-Celery-Beet
Apple-Spinach-Kale-Parsley-Ginger
Grapefruit-Strawberry
Watermelon-Cilantro-Cucumber
Cucumber-Celery-Apple-Lemon-Ginger-Spirulina, Kale
Cucumber-Celery-Apple-Chlorella
So stay tuned, and I will update my blog every day throughout the cleanse.
Connect with me through my website and Facebook Fan Page – Please do click LIKE
So are you in? Let me know, if you are going to be with me for this one, and also share your goals….
“it matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.”
– “Invictus” by William Ernest Henley

 

Comments are closed.